Skip to Content

What You Should Know About Filing a Car Accident Report

With over 100 years of experience,
our firm is here to help you.

In the aftermath of a car accident, drivers must fulfill certain responsibilities to ensure their claim proceeds smoothly. One post-collision step that is crucial to a successful claim is completing an accident report. A car accident report establishes the details of a collision and provides a record of the events. Collision reports must be filed within a certain amount of time and through the proper channel; it is important to be aware of these details to aid in the success of your claim.

The Police Usually File a Report After a Car Accident

Following a car accident, the police typically respond to the scene to collect details about the collision and file a collision report. If you are able to speak with the police at this time, they will ask you questions about how the accident occurred and the injuries you sustained, in addition to general information about you. They may contact you after the day of the accident as well.

Will I Need to File My Own Car Accident Report?

In New Hampshire, a collision report must be filed for any car accident that resulted in injury, death, or property damage of at least $1,000 total. Drivers do not need to file a car accident report if a report was filed by the police. However, if the police did not file a report, you may need to do it yourself (this is known as an “operator’s report”). You may also need to file a report to aid in the success of your claim or for insurance purposes.

Time Limits for Accident Reports and Claims

Car accident reports must be filed with the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles within 15 days of a collision. Due to the length of time that police reports can take to file, it is generally advisable to file an operator’s report if one is needed for insurance purposes.

A car accident report is separate from a car accident claim. In fact, filing a report promptly and with complete and accurate information can help in the success of your car accident claim. In New Hampshire, there is a 3-year statute of limitations on car accident claims.

Contact the Douglas, Leonard & Garvey, P.C. legal team to get started on your car accident claim. We will guide you through every step of the legal process.

Send us a message or call (603) 288-1403 to schedule a free consultation with our attorneys.